Ornamo Award 2019

Ornamo Palkinto Award

Ornamo Award

The Ornamo Award is a prestigious design industry accolade that celebrates cutting edge applied art and design. Each year, nominees are put forward by Ornamo members, with a three-strong shortlist chosen by the Ornamo board. The winner is chosen by an external expert appointed by the board.

In 2019 the shortlisted candidates for the Ornamo Award are three visionaries of design. In addition to a business-oriented mindset, they share an interest for materials and life-cycle thinking. Textile designer Maija Arela is known not only as the founder of the family-owned Arela, famous for its sustainable fashion, but also for her work in the International Colour Consortium. Industrial designer Ville Kokkonen carries out futuristic, ecological design projects in his own company, conducts research in materials development and teaches at Aalto University. Shoe designer Minna Peltomäki is revising the Pomar brand by addressing the northern climate, ethical consumers and the ageing population.

The winner of the Ornamo Award 2019 will be announced at Musiikkitalo, Helsinki on December 5. The winner is chosen by the Managing Director of Finnish Commerce Federation Mari Kiviniemi.

The previous Ornamo Award winners are Glass artist Renata Jakowleff (2018), Service designer Mikko Koivisto (2017), Automotive designer Pasi Pennanen (2016) and Clothing designer Kirsimari Kärkkäinen (2015).